Search  for 
Free/Hawkins Barn Cats Meow
Larger Photo   

Free/Hawkins Barn Cats Meow

$25.00

Also known as the “Pig/Cow Barn,” the Free/Hawkins Barn was built in 1922 by William R. Free. His son-in-law, Thomas M. Hawkins, Sr., had the barn painted green and yellow to resemble John Deere equipment. In 1985 several students from Brentsville District High School painted the pig and cow mural on the barn when they entered a contest for outdoor paintings sponsored by a Maryland radio station. The mural won second place in the contest and has become an iconic symbol of the area’s agricultural heritage. The Nokesville Barn Restoration Project seeks to restore the barn.


Quantity  

    
Item # 017291
 
 

Echoes, the Manassas Museum Store offers a one-of-a-kind selection of gifts, history, jewelry, Civil War prints, City of Manassas gear and much more.